Fact Sheet Search

Fact Sheet Alphabetical List

Automatic Meteorological Station – AN/FMQ-19


The AN/FMQ-19 is an integrated system of weather sensors that measure, collect, and disseminate meteorological data to help meteorologists, pilots, and flight dispatchers prepare and monitor weather forecasts, plan flight routes, and provide necessary information for safe takeoffs and landings.


The AN/FMQ-19 consists of 10 different sensors that measure wind speed/direction, rain accumulation, lightning occurrence/location/frequency, cloud height/coverage, temperature/humidity, atmospheric pressure, precipitation type/intensity, freezing rain occurrence, ambient light, and horizontal surface visibility.

The sensors are typically deployed to airfields as one primary group with a secondary group and possibly a third (mid-field) group. Each group contains a Field Data Collection Unit that collects weather data from various sensors and disseminates data to a server known as the Terminal Data Acquisition Unit. The TDAU processes data sent from the FDCU into a usable, readable format.

Maintainers are able to access system configurations and controls by interfacing with the Airport Weather Advisor® software which is located on the TDAU. The software’s ability to configure sensors as required provides a flexible solution to the necessity of automated weather.


The AN-FMQ-19 has been installed at 110 locations around the world and has been providing weather data for DoD organizations since the first installation in 2002. The system has seen multiple updates to its components. Improvements to data measurement parameters generate more accurate data and ensure end users are equipped with information needed to support DoD operations.


General characteristics


Primary function: Measure and report meteorological data

Contractor: Coastal Environmental

Communication links: Twisted-pair wires and fiber optic cabling

Structures: 10 m tower, 3 m tower, precipitation accumulation sensor, lightning detector, cloud height sensor


(Current as of July 2016)